hiking, travel, Uncategorized

360 Degrees of Beauty – Santa Monica Mountains, CA

If you can ignore the hideously high prices of real estate, food, gas, (and, well, everything else), the geographical disasters – mudslides, earthquakes, wildfires, droughts – and the occasional civil unrest (riots, shootings, muggings, oh my!) then the Los Angeles area has a lot to recommend it. The weather is famous with sunny skies and mild temperatures practically year round. And although the earthquakes are a nuisance sometimes, they do have nice side effects: gigantic mountains. If you’re a hiker like me, that’s a good thing.

Los Angeles also has its fair share of, shall we say, unique individuals. For example, a few months back, this made the news. Some overly muscled young men, one presumes, lugged a piano up to the top of a nearby hill. Witness:

Source: Eddie P.
Source: Eddie P.

My hiking friend Sara and I had to check this out. Which had nothing to do with the prospect of overly muscled young men, I assure you. Is it getting warm in here? Anyhow, early one Sunday morning we set off on a ridgeline path on the Topanga Lookout Trail that ended in views like these:

graffiti two

lookout two

lookout

graffiti one

Alas, the piano had disappeared, perhaps pushed over the edge into the brush below? We will never know. We were too busy checking out the colorful graffiti. And the 360 degree view.

The day was a bit warm, but  the breezes are nice up high here, and you’ll seldom find a better view in the round. The three muskateers, Rudy, Kima, and Misha, smiled their approval.

PicMonkey Collage

In case you’re in the area (about 35 miles northwest of Los Angeles), here’s another link for the Topanga Lookout Trail. Recommended!

1 thought on “360 Degrees of Beauty – Santa Monica Mountains, CA”

  1. Reblogged this on sherriemiranda1 and commented:
    It’s interesting. The time I lived in Santa Monica was one of the loneliest times in my life, yet as I look back on it, I have many precious memories: of my EL students at Venice High School, of the homeless people there (one who tried to convince me it was the ONLY way to live), my fellow teachers at VHS & the many people I meant on the boardwalk (which is no longer made of boards, but of cement).
    I have many memories of walking to the ocean, almost always alone. I remember beautiful sunsets that for a change, I just tried to enjoy, rather than capturing it on film (most of the film & pics have been lost in all my wanderings anyway).
    There was a woman named JoAnne who made this amazing paintings and for a few months while she stayed with friends, she let me have those paintings on my walls in my second apt. in Santa Monica. The walls were said when they had to leave.
    Life is full of fleeting moments. And several of these, I hadn’t thought about for some time.
    Thanks you, Xina, for the reminder! 😉 ❤

Leave a Reply

