Cover reveal, Uncategorized, writing

Revive Us, Oh WIPpeteers!

Hello my friends! I have been absent for a long time now, either leaving on long road trips or heading down to San Diego for the pop culture explosion that is Comic Con or laboring on other projects that have somehow kept me from posting.

Today is the day of the week where I share a little snippet of my work in progress, thus, a WIPpet. It is posted as part of a challenge hosted by K.L. Schwengel. My WIPpet needs to have something to do with today’s date. And so, today’s snippet relies on WIPpet math – the sixth paragraph on page 8 (for 8/6/14). I’m revising this fantasy novel and it is giving me absolute FITS. I second guess myself so often and worry and fret and in general make myself a mess. Anyhow, I think I know the best path to take now, after much agita. Time will tell, I suppose.

Anyhow, in this scene young Lance has been drugged by some brigands but has managed to escape. He’s staggered through the wilderness until …

I don’t know how much time went by, at most possibly another day, for I vaguely remember night falling again. I remember nothing else, save one muddled instance: someone bending over me, a hand grasping my chin, and raising my head. A blurry face stared into mine. Vague alarm clawed at my mind, but I couldn’t seem to summon the energy to struggle. After a moment, I could no longer even keep my eyes open.

The world drifted away and I knew no more.

Visit my fellow WIPpet participants here, or join the fun yourself:

In other news, just last night I published another free short story collection (this one accessible to my non-American friends!) over this away:

Ruling Elite_small

Oh, dear, I just realized that I forgot to credit my cover artist – the indubitable Karri Klawiter. I’ll have to update the file. Anyhow, isn’t she fantastic? Here’s the blurb for the collection:

In The Ruling Elite and Other Stories by Xina Marie Uhl and Janet Loftis you’ll find a collection of short fiction that fuses fantasy with history and anthropology. Hidden within the pages are a slave-mercenary struggling to save the life of his mistress, a palace guard defending his city against the destroyer of prophecy, a wanderer who brings more than just past grief into the lives of four sisters, two men who go on a dangerous hunt to kill the witches destroying their village, an outcast trying to outwit the village oracle and get justice for her murdered mother, and a captain who discovers how high the cost is to return the dead to their rightful homes.

Available now for free at Smashwords

9 thoughts on “Revive Us, Oh WIPpeteers!”

  1. Love the cover, and the collection sounds interesting. Another item to add to the TBR list. But that just means I always have something waiting for me. 😀

    An excerpt that raises plenty of questions…to which I shall now require answers.

  2. A very intriguing excerpt! The descriptions give a really good sense of the muddiness he’s feeling (I was about to say “clear sense” but a clear sense of muddiness seemed a bit odd!)

Leave a Reply

