Cover reveal, photography, travel, Uncategorized, writing

A Potpourri of Stuff

I meant to post yesterday, but I was completely fried. A friend and I went to see the free National Geographic Photography Exhibit at the Annenberg Space for Photography in Los Angeles. Highly recommended! It ends on 4/27/14, though, so if you’re in the area don’t wait too long to see it.

So, in no particular order, are some updates:

  • For WIPpet, the weekly work in progress challenge hosted by KL Schwengel: I finished a major edit of City of Ages, and now I’m on to a short story for which I have a rough and wretched first draft written. This needs to be 90% trashed, but luckily, I have managed to plot out the story and I will be rewriting it as soon as possible. As of now I have only written the title, however. “The Pomegranate Tree.” Lovely, isn’t it? A more substantial post for next week’s WIPpet, I promise.
  • I’ve finished the audio version of The Cat’s Guide to Human Behavior and am now waiting for it to clear the QC process at ACX. Here is the cover art for that.
  • Cat's_Guide_Final
  • I am ridiculously excited about my recently hatched cockatiels. They live in a gazebo in my back yard, nicely separated from the cat and dogs. Here is a picture of these frightfully ugly little guys. The two biggest ones are about a week older than the other little balls of fluff. There’s a total of six. This also serves as my first entry into Michelle’s Weekly Pet Challenge.

Baby cockatiels

 ~

petchallenge

 

  • Finally, what is the below? Why, my wardrobe for WonderCon in Anaheim, of course! It starts tomorrow and I will be there in all my (ahem) glory. For those who have never been, WonderCon is a mini-Comic Con. I rambled about Comic Con over thisaway.
  • dress
20 thoughts on “A Potpourri of Stuff”

      1. Well, I do suppose they’re cute to their mother. 😉 Wouldn’t want to say the wrong thing to a mom, you know. Moms can be sort of scary about their kids. All defensive and stuff and ready to bite the heads off anyone who says the wrong thing. Speaking of which, I just saw someone I need to eat. Excuse me. *runs off to devour the last person who said something ever so slightly unflattering about one of her children* 😉

  1. Baby birds are odd little creatures. It takes a long time for their “cute” to come in full force, By then, they’re already teenagers and prone to all those mood swings 😉

    I love that title idea, Xina.

  2. I like the title. I’ve never seen a pomegranate tree, though. I do like to eat them….although, as food goes, they are a high maintenance meal. 😉

    Oh, the babies. They’re…UGLY! *snork* True bird story. When I was in maybe third or fourth grade, I found a fresh out of the nest starling. Eyes still closed. Ugliest thing you’d ever want to see. I took it in, much to my parents’ dismay, researched how to keep it alive. Fed it a steady diet of dog kibble soaked in warm water. And raised it to fly free. I name it Keeva because of the noise it would make. It stuck around the first year, and the second. After that, I never saw it again. But baby birds are not cute. 🙂

    1. My parents happen to have a pomegranate tree so I actually have seen one. I know very little about trees and whatnot but that one I can attest to. And yes, definitely, high maintenance meal. The birds sure like them, though.

      Awww, how great of you to raise Keeva! Wow, dog kibble, really? That’s crazy! Some baby birds are cuter than others, apparently. But definitely not cockatiels!

  3. Yeah, that is a nice title, Xina. Be interesting to see what you come up with after trashing 90% of the story. 🙂

    Those really are amazingly ugly chicks! Like the ugly duckling ….

  4. My daughter is highly offended that you called them ugly. She maintains that all animals are beautiful. =)

    May your story revision proceed smoothly, from this point…

  5. I would call the baby birds… Endearing! We have a tendency to call a lot of animals cute, but these guys are at least endearing little ones, and fun to look at!

Leave a Reply

